Some people think the government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles in order to solve environment problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that environmental issues are needed to be solved strictly by the government's policy of increasing the cost of private vehicles. Personally, it is a useful measure, but other measures might be more effective. There are some underlying reasons why authorities should make an effort to raise petrol prices. Firstly, it would limit the number of car journeys and the money raised could be used to improve public transport. Because of the sharp rise in appearance and convenience of cars, humans forget the harmfulness of using their vehicles related to the environment. Therefore, the government should upgrade and expand public transport provided by the cost of private vehicle users. Moreover, more goods would travel by rail. It is clear that freight services and the useful solution former would reduce vehicle emissions and the greenhouse effect. Apart from the practical measures mentioned above, I believe that other solutions are more effective. There are more and more traffic jams happening on the road daily, especially during rush hours. In this situation, congestion charges should be the best idea to improve transport infrastructure. For instance, London's government used this method to avoid traffic congestion influenced directly by transport facilities. Additionally, free bus and train passes are other measures that helped to reduce the use of cars and improve air quality. Local authorities should subsidize the cost of fares to encourage people in using public transport. In conclusion, it seems to me that it's useful to raise taxes on petrol, but other transport measures would be more effective to help the environment.