At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Many countries are contemplating what is the right proportion for the country’s population in terms of the age of their citizens. Nowadays, some countries are experiencing a rise in the number of young adults more than that of older people and this can be beneficial to the country in different ways. A country with a larger percentage of young people ensures a sustainable workforce for the country’s economy. Young adults are known for better creativity, adaptability, and flexibility and are open to accepting new ideas and innovation. They are likely to be equipped with modern technology and subject matters such as machine learning, artificial intelligence and data science which are becoming more relevant in today’s modern world. In contrast, older generations are reluctant to study and take more time to absorb new things. Independent research shows technology innovation coupled with a younger workforce is one of the success factors of developed countries like Singapore. Similarly, a younger workforce can contribute to the country’s economy by paying income tax. Government can invest the tax revenue in the country’s essential infrastructures, healthcare, and education for the benefit of its citizens. A strong workforce and stable infrastructure can attract foreign investments from other nations and consequently, this can improve the country’s living standards as there are more job opportunities available in the market. Due to its robust economy, the authority is less likely to have pressures to support the ageing population such as the distribution of pension funds and providing health care services to elders. To conclude, countries around the world are thriving to have a sustainable workforce as it can have a significant impact on their economy.