Some people think the government should subsidise fruit and vegetables to make healthy food more affordable. Others argue that the government should tax unhealthy food instead. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some individuals believe that fruit and vegetables should be provided by the authority to make healthy food cheaper, others affirm that it is better for the government to tax food which is unhealthy instead. In my opinion, giving high taxes on food which is bad for people's health is more plausible. On the one hand, a number of people insist that the government should allocate healthy food to the citizens. Firstly, this approach makes fruit and vegetables cheaper for the majority of people; therefore, the consumption of these products will be increased. Hence, the community's health can be improved. However, this solution may cost a huge amount of money for the government to subsidise enough food for various areas in the country. On the other hand, I believe that it is better to tax unhealthy food instead. Firstly, when products such as hamburgers and fried chicken are given high taxes by the government, they can be more expensive. This way helps people reduce the consumption of these kinds of food, and they will choose other products which are healthier, and reduce the rate of obesity. Secondly, taxing healthy food will foster economic growth. To illustrate, the authority can boost the revenue through taxes from these products and invest in other facilities for the community. Thus, this approach not only improves the health of the public but also rise the country's revenue. To sum up, subsidising healthy food to society to make it more affordable can be a smart solution. However, I conclude that giving high taxes on unhealthy food would benefit both the country and society.