Nowadays, the quality of education is very low. Some people think that we should encourage our students to evaluate and criticize their teachers; others believe that this would result in a loss of respect and discipline in the classroom.

Many schools today have been struggling with ways to improve the quality of their education, and the most common method that they resort to is teacher evaluation by the students. This approach, however, is said to have made teachers discouraged and also their relationship with students deteriorating. However, in my opinion, this system seems to bring more benefits to only students themselves, but also teachers. To begin with, basically, this system encourages both students and teachers to participate in their classes actively. When students are in the classroom, they are going to ask some questions frequently, which will motivate teachers to prepare the classes professionally and they are willing to put their blood, sweat, and tear into the lessons. For instance, in Seoul, which is the capital city of South Korea, there have been participating classes in elementary schools. Before the lessons finish, students always feedback on their level of understanding about the class and ask difficult questions to the teachers. It leads teachers to manage the level of the class and also helps the students to focus on the lessons. This means evaluation system allows students and teachers to communicate with each other positively. As a result, this will lead to high-quality education in schools. Nevertheless, some people think evaluating instructors by students is dangerous since it makes teachers stressed out and discouraged. In addition, it allows students to look down on their teachers. When it comes to teachers, if they receive poor assessments from students, they will be frustrated and ostracized. Moreover, Some educators who got bad evaluations from children are struggling with mental illnesses such as depression or insomnia. This means this system affects teachers in a negative way. In terms of the students, they sometimes tend to disrespect the teachers who got poor scores on the evaluation system, even some students ignore and bother a certain teacher in the classroom. This means the relationships between them get worse seriously. Eventually, it will bring low-quality education into the classrooms. To sum up, although there have been drawbacks to teacher evaluation systems because of teachers ’ stresses and students ’ undesirable attitudes, there are more advantages to them since it helps students and teachers to be more involved in the classes actively.