Nowadays, more and more jobs and tasks are done by machines which involve hard physical work. Do these positive effects of this trend outweigh the negative effects?

It is a common belief that humans employ machines more than ever before to help with hard physical work. While there are admittedly several positive impacts of overly exaggerating the utilization of robots, I believe that the negative influences of this growing phenomenon are more glaring. There are various benefits to having a brand-new machine helping out with physical tasks. The first advantage is that people would have more time to spend on other aspects of life. As machines take over hard work from people, they no longer have to spend time cooking or cleaning. This, therefore, facilitates humankind to take better care of their families and themselves. Another driving advantageous effect is that utilizing machinery can achieve more remarkable feats in scientific and technological fields. This can be explained by the fact that machines complete repetitive tasks quicker and more accurately, which can result in higher productivity. On the other hand, I believe that the aforementioned benefits are overshadowed by the drawbacks. The most obvious one is that people who overly depend on these machines would lead to the lack of practical and survival skills. As a result, this phenomenon would cause future generations to become less self-sufficient. Another consequence is the loss of jobs in the labour force in the near future. This is because machinery is taking away positions occupied by humans. In fact, this should act as a major precursor to a wave of unemployment. To conclude, it seems to me that the application of machines replacing humankind to do physical work does more harm than good for our workforce and society.