People think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others believe that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion on this topic.

People hold conflicting views about both methods of reducing crime in society. While I tend towards the viewpoint that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison, I would have to support using alternative solutions for reducing crime. It is believed that these offenders should be punished with a long prison sentence because this phenomenon may cause numerous fears of other crimes. In other words, if someone has an awareness of chastisable intensity before doing something wrong, this will prevent them from becoming an offender. For instance, rapists and murderers in the UAE often get imprisonment due to their offence. Which is leading to making them think twice before committing a serious crime. There are a number of alternative solutions for reducing lawbreakers such as providing educational institutions and creating suitable job opportunities for people to solve the problems effectively. In addition, if all people are fully educated and have a certain job, they will be busy with work and have no time to commit crimes. In fact, there is a free education for citizens in Sweden and their government is doing this effectively. That is a reason why Sweden always stands at the top in peaceful nations where the lawbreaker’s rate is low in the category of international peace and security. In conclusion, although some people think that offenders should have longer prison sentences in order to reduce crime rate. I personally believe that there would be more alternative solutions to reduce crime in society instead of using the method before.