People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is widely believed that to tackle environmental problems, the government should raise the price of fuel used in different means of transport. Personally, I agree with this solution for some reasons. First of all, when higher taxes are imposed on petrol for vehicles, there could be a reduction in the amount of natural resources which are exploited to produce this fuel. It is obvious that many resources such as coal, gas, and oil are being exhausted in order to meet the demand for transport. Moreover, it takes these minerals thousands of years to recover, therefore, this method could play a vital role in protecting them. In addition, the government can also use the money from fuel taxes to improve and conserve the environment and natural habitats of many species. Furthermore, since there are higher prices, citizens would cut down on the use of private vehicles which are the main cause of air pollution. People would tend to commute around the city by public transport such as buses or subways in order to save a huge amount of money spent on petrol. For instance, according to a report in Baomoi newspaper, a few months ago, when not many people in Vietnam can afford the extremely high cost of gas and petrol due to the lack of them and as a result, the percentage of bus users doubled that in the same time of last year. This trend results in better air quality in a number of cities in Vietnam, and the reduction of detrimental emissions from vehicles. In conclusion, increasing the cost of gas for transportation is one of the greatest ways that the authorities should take into consideration to deal with a huge quantity of environmental issues.