Very few schoolchildren learn about the value of money and how to look after it, yet this is a critical life skill that should be taught as part of the school curriculum. Do you agree or disagree?

There are increasing concerns about young children, who have few opportunities to learn about the value of money and essential skills to handle money today. While some people put emphasis on the importance of these skills and propose that they should be embedded into a part of a school curriculum, others are pessimistic about this view. I personally support the former view for the following reasons. On one hand, it is more significant to acquire the knowledge and skills to manage cash as the payment system has become more complicated than ever before. For example, transactions of money are more conducted online, and many users of digital payment are unable to calculate their own budget accurately. Moreover, this leads to a decline in the sense of spending money among many young people. This modern trend has made it critical that schools should provide classes to teach young adults about monetary value and useful knowledge to avoid unfortunate consequences including fraud and bankruptcy. On the other hand, in spite of the growing concerns regarding the use of money, the school curriculum is already overwhelmed by other courses of learning. In other words, schools have already had sufficient classes in language and technology as well as new classes to understand human rights and morals. As a result, the growing diversity and increase in academic learning pose intensive pressure on young learners. Therefore, parents should be more responsible to teach about money instead of school. In conclusion, the lessons to learn about money are regarded as essential in the fast-changing society. However, educationalists should understand the overwhelming academic pressure that students are dealing with today.