Some scientist thinks that there are intelligent life forms on other planets and message should be sent to contact them. Other scientists think it is bad idea and would be dangerous. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There is no doubt that humans have been trying to contact extraterrestrial beings. Many scientists believe that this trend is risky and unsafe, while others argue that building a relationship with different intelligent life forms could bring benefits to society. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the topic and explain my support for the latter view. Firstly, trying to send messages to other planets could be both risky and pointless from financial and understanding perspectives. This is because the messaging process would be dramatically expensive, considering all the challenges that extraterrestrial travel has, and other intelligent life forms would not be able to understand a message from Earth afterwards. For example, a written letter could not be understood by an extraterrestrial being. This idea can also be dangerous, as humans currently do not know how to protect themselves against threats from other planets. Scientists should consider this risk because once extraterrestrial beings are aware of all natural resources available on Earth, such as water and oil, they can use their strength to steal them from humans. For instance, in this scenario, life on Earth would be threatened. On the other hand, contacting other intelligent life forms can benefit humans in terms of economic and technological development. Firstly, other planets may have abundant commodities available, so a new way of trading would raise between Earth and other planets. Secondly, extraterrestrial intelligence may be ahead of humans in the development of technology, especially when it comes to aircraft that are capable to minimize the duration of travel to extremely distant locations. For example, through this contact, scientists can learn how to build spaceships which are able to travel to other galaxies in less than a month. As a result, humanity would be able to travel to space, creating trade routes with other planets. To conclude, while there are disadvantages of contacting other intelligent life forms, such as the threats against mankind, I personally feel that the benefits of travelling to other galaxies in a short time and trading with other planets outweigh the drawbacks.