It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, taking a gap year before college is well-liked among students who have just finished high school. While there are some benefits associated with taking a break after school, I believe the main drawbacks are more substantial. On the one hand, a potential advantage of a one-year sabbatical may be the students would have more time to discover their passions and interests. They would have a chance to examine their desires and that leads to choosing the right field to study at university. To graduate from a desirable course might help the individuals to remember that period of their lives as a fine experience. Another perceived benefit is that by having more free time they can obtain a temporary job which can result in reaching financial independence and that extra money can also be a proper backing for college expenditures. On the other hand, a primary disadvantage of this issue is that it keeps teenagers away from the educational environment which causes discouragement in students to achieve higher educational accomplishments. A further negative is that it can affect their resume adversely since some employers don’t appreciate seeing gaps on a CV. Therefore, some of the employment positions that they actually might deserve will be risked by taking a gap after schooling. On balance, it is true that taking a year off would seem advantageous under certain circumstances. However, in my view, its negative effects in terms of lack of enthusiasm for pursuing tertiary education and threatening professional opportunities override the advantages.