Some people think that paying tax is their only duty, while others believed that we have more responsibilities towards society. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Taxes are considered, by some citizens, the only duty that they have to accomplish, while other people think that there are other responsibilities to be taken towards the country they are living in. I strongly support the second thesis and I believe that each society is made by the contribution of every single individual. Firstly, I would argue that paying taxes is not something that is made in favour of some abstract entity, but aims to improve our own lives, because taxes are used to provide services. For instance, in my country, money collected through tax payments allows people to be granted health care, education and efficient infrastructures. Anyway, societies do not consist only of work paid by citizens, but also, and mostly, in the sum of individual behaviours. Even though people are given good schools and hospitals, which have been paid by a quote of their income, these structures must be kept in good condition by the whole population. The responsibilities of every single tax-payer go over money and involve respecting everything that was paid with that money. In addition, some problems, like environmental pollution, require the contribution of everyone. By contrast, some people may argue that the taxes they are paying are enough for the government to take care of every single issue. Actually, there may be situations where citizens are asked to pay so much money that they feel someway exonerated from any other obligation. Regardless of the fact that these complaints are right or wrong, though, there are still many aspects of everyday life that cannot be tackled only with money, and that needs everybody to take responsibility for them. In conclusion, taxes must be paid to build and maintain infrastructures and public services, but safety, cleanliness and reciprocate respect are up to every single person, who, therefore, must consider themselves responsible for keeping their society enjoyable and a pleasant place to live in.