More and more people are opting for and consuming ready-made food instead of freshly cooked food. Does this practice has more advantages than disadvantages? Discuss

In recent times, consumption of packed food is increasing sharply as it is readily available. Due to time constrain, people, opt for this rather than cooking at home. I think this way of eating has more downsides than benefits when considering health. This essay will examine various advantages and disadvantages of consuming packed food with evidence to support my stance. To begin with, to compete in this fast world, people are racing against time to succeed because of this many don't find time to cook food and some even skip a meal. To forgo this situation, people prefer to choose ready-made foods in the supermarket such as sandwiches, noodles, and salads to satisfy their hunger. For instance, it takes 20 minutes to prepare a meal, 30 minutes to cook, 2 minutes to pack them, and 15 minutes to do the dishes whereas for the packed food, no such process is required. People can enjoy their meals with peace of mind. Despite the advantages, some packed foods mislead its consumer by claiming to be healthy but the truth is they are not. Most of the calories in the ready-made food are from sugars. High sugar consumption can lead to obesity and diabetic conditions. In addition to this, packed foods usually contain a lot of preservatives to prevent the food from spoiling. These preservatives have adverse effects on human health. A survey done in the United States confirms that chemicals used as food preservatives could cause breathing difficulties in children. Furthermore, the artificial colours and flavours used in ready-made food are carcinogens and have the potential to induce cancer in humans. For instance, in India, a popular noodle brand was banned in 2010 due to high lead content. Most of the packed food exaggerates the contents of the products to attract consumers. To summarize, food is vital for the survival of humans but to time constrain, people prefer packed foods that are readily available in stores. It can be clearly concluded that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Though it is convenient, minding health, people should consider the ingredients that the food is made up of before consumption.