Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are those who think that raising the minimum age for driver’s licenses has the biggest effects on the progress of safety on roads. In my opinion, I partially disagree with this view, and the reason will be elaborated in the enlisted paragraphs. Firstly, let us look at the advantages. If drivers' ages become older than now, it would diminish the number of criminal acts on pathways. This is because there are a lot of reckless crimes that are done by youngsters who recently can become driving cars. Adults have more responsibility in their lives such as families or businesses than teenagers. According to research done in 2018, 30% of offenses on the highways in Japan were caused by individuals who were 18 or 19- year-old. Thus, this development would reduce these delinquencies. On the other hand, though the government increases the ages, it would be meaningless if it does not enact laws against older people. It means that many elderly individuals engender car accidents because of the shortage of concentration or physical abilities. In addition, there are more accidents generated by the elderly than by the young. For instance, in 2020, there were more than 100,000 victims who got injured by older drivers in Japan. Hence, the administration has to decide some rules for protecting these aggrieved parties. In addition, although the legal age inclines from 18 to 20, it would create the same number of accidents due to the stress or burden. In conclusion, notwithstanding this improvement would have a beneficial effect on citizens or socials, there are more effective ways to make pathways or highways more safe. Therefore, subtly disagree with this statement.