Some people think the news has no real connection to people’s lives, so reading newspapers or watching news programmes on television is a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree?

News plays an important role in everyone's life. Though people are not directly connected to the events, it is always important to know what is happening around them. But some believe, reading newspapers or watching the news is a mere waste of time. I completely disagree with the above claim and this essay will discuss the reasons with evidence to support my stance. To begin with, it is always good to be aware of the surroundings and the news provides us with such information. May it be local or international news, it always has an impact on a person's life in one way or the other. For instance, Russia's against Ukraine not only affected the economy of both countries but also had an impact on a global level. It resulted in a recession which in turn caused retrenchment in many American companies. Thus, a small catastrophic event in a country could have an impact on a larger scale. In addition to this, through news, one can learn lessons and experiences from other countries and communities like the mistakes or the development. Governments of many countries closely follow the news to know what is happening in their rival countries and frame strategies accordingly. For example, if a country goes bankrupt, neighbouring countries could either prepare themselves for the situation or devise a plan to prevent it. Similarly, news of theft in the nearby community could make others in the community to be vigilant and thus, could protect themselves from robbery. Hence, news helps to enhance oneself by being aware of the surrounding. To conclude, though people in the news or the happenings have no direct connection to the viewer's or the reader's life, it definitely has some impact on one's life. Therefore, news should not be considered a waste of time but a valuable source of information.