Some people think that the government should increase tax on unhealthy food to encourage people to start eating healthy. Do you agree or disagree?

Unhealthy food is the main health problem in many countries. Many individuals believe that the government should raise taxes on unhealthy foods to encourage the population to consume healthy foods. I totally agree with this viewpoint. The support of my viewpoint will be discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, I completely agree that the government should raise taxes on unhealthy foods. The most important reason is that nowadays many people suffer from chronic diseases more than non-chronic diseases caused by fast foods and ready-meal foods. For instance, in the last 100 years, food innovation has not improved, then individuals ate healthy food mostly from fresh fruits and vegetables. Nowadays, convenience foods like instant noodles, which are easily accessible, have become more popular than fresh foods. In addition, convenience foods usually contain unhealthy ingredients and provide long-term negative effects on health. As a result, if some people consume convenience foods for a long time, it will cause chronic diseases such as diabetes, heart disease, and obesity. In addition, the government should provide education about healthy diets. For example, to encourage populations to reduce their consumption of junk food through TV advertisements and social media. Moreover, the government should raise taxes on junk food and increase funds to improve sports facilities in public schools. As a result, if teenagers exercise more than in the past, then they could be healthier and avoid chronic diseases. Lastly, families should play a role in encouraging children to avoid unhealthy foods. For example, families should buy and cook healthy food with fresh vegetables and healthy ingredients. In conclusion, I believe that although there are various ways to reduce on eating unhealthy food, the most effective one is the provide education advantages about eat healthy foods.