The number of elderly people in the world is increasing. What do you think are the positive and negative effects of this trend?

Aged individuals are becoming more populated than youths in today's world. Undoubtedly, this phenomenon has some advantages and negativities for the world at large which I will discuss in this essay. Regarding the positive consequences of having more elderly persons in society. One of the primary benefits is the transmission of historic and cultural inheritance. It seems that the younger generations have no knowledge of medieval events such as the folklore of King Jaja of Opobo in the Western part of Nigeria. Whereas, these stories help to pass down social memes and the heritage of the legends which sometimes help to maintain the fabric of the society and behavioural patterns. Furthermore, it is said that a country excels more economically when the rate of production is greater than that of consumption. For instance, It is noticed that China have substantial economic growth because of their high manufacturing rate and the census conducted in the year 2021 in this place shows that 70% of the citizens are aged between 65-90 years. On the other hand, brain drain is said to be one of the major problems of provinces with more older adults. Probably, most aged are mentally impaired and are not as intelligent as younger generations thereby having a consequential effect on economic growth and development in other sectors. Also, there can be reduced social mobility and demographics as seen in China according to a study conducted by Juoyung, 2020. Lastly, political instability caused by the death of the ministers is another substantial effect as government officials govern for a few years because of their advanced age. This fluctuation results in under development of each society involved and globally. In conclusion, an increased proportion of older humans has some advantages as well as disadvantages for the nations and the globe at large both economically and socially.