The health benefits of physical exercise are well known. Despite this, many people do not exercise regularly. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to encourage them to exercise regularly?

Obesity has been a significant issue worldwide over the past decades. Although the importance of doing sports has been recognized, people still do not develop a habit of exercising regularly. This essay will reveal the underlying reasons and provide suggestions to alleviate this issue. It is apparent that most individuals do not establish exercise habits because of their hectic schedules. Living in the contemporary world, people averagely spend 9 hours on their job or studies. They become lethargic when they get off work due to the long working hours and therefore have little motivation to do sports after work. Moreover, sports are not greatly promoted in many countries. Citizens may found inconvenient and time-consuming on exercising if there are no sports facilities in the proximity of their homes. People may also take this as an excuse not to exercise. In order to promote physical exercise within society, campaigns can be launched to increase public awareness of doing sports such as National Sports Day, when citizens can reserve any sports venue for free. In addition, the government should spend more money on integrating sports into the city. For instance, developing a public bicycle system can provide a new way for residents to commute. Building more sport-related facilities can increase accessibility and incentivize people to do sports. To sum up, modern people live a sedentary lifestyle in light of their busy work and insufficient promotion of sports by the government. Authorities should spend more capital and impose policies on sports to increase the general willingness for physical activities.