These days many of us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time.

Explain why you think this change has happened. What are the effects of this change in attitude? It is true that we tend to throw away our broken or useless things these days, rather than reuse or recycle them. There are various reasons why this is the case and this trend has several negative consequences in the world. There are three main reasons for this trend. Firstly, advances in technology enable companies to produce a large number of goods faster than ever, and customers can buy items at low prices than before. Samsung company, for example, produces thousands of television every day and all individuals can buy this commodity at reasonable prices if their old one is not working any more. Secondly, advertisements promote consumerism culture and encourage us to buy the latest new objects rather than repairing our old possessions. Finally, people are too busy with their jobs and making a living, and they do not have enough time to mend their old or broken things. The most important consequence of this attitude is that raw materials such as trees, metals and fossil fuels are running out in order to produce new objects. Furthermore, we produce more waste than ever by throwing away damaged items and even plastic garbage doesn't break down easily and adds to the litter problem. Finally, an increasing number of companies, which are producing large quantities of goods, release huge amounts of gasses such as carbon monoxide that cause global temperature to rise. In conclusion, several factors have caused this behaviour, and this trend has negative impacts on our lives.