some parents believe that children should do extra-curricular activities after school. Others say in this way children are under pressure. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although it is often thought that after-school activities are essential for children's holistic growth, others claim that they add too much burden to children having to juggle between academic and non-academic matters. In my opinion, I consider that co-curricular activities are vital to developing important life skill sets, such as collaboration, empathy, and communication, but students should be forced to do them. On one hand, according to some, extra-curricular activities, which mostly involve sports, community service, and arts, are a great platform for children to learn teamwork and be creative. Undoubtedly, academic subjects focus too much on individual effort. As a result, it is often observed that many academically strong children end up not as successful at work as their peers, who were active in co-curricular activities since they struggle to collaborate and communicate effectively with others. Furthermore, performing well in both academic and non-academic definitely shows that children have gone above and beyond their basic academic expectations. Hence, top universities’ selection criterion emphasizes extra-curricular involvement. On the other hand, people might argue that after-school activities take away time from academic studies. Some parents who focus on academics only think that after-school activities are a waste of time and energy. There is a heightened interest in mental health; therefore, some parents also prefer not to pressure their children as it is not healthy. There are a lot of depressed children in countries with demanding academic standards, thus, parents start prioritizing children ’s happiness. In addition to that, in this current society, which promotes free will, many support children have the power to choose their own path. Finally, in my opinion, it is children's need to join extracurricular activities. It provides a way to learn indispensable life skills. Though I agree that free will is a basic right, children require proper guidance from experienced adults to navigate the real world. One way to resolve this is letting children try and choose what co-curricular activities that interest them. They also can make a lot of friends, who can be their valuable support system, through these activities. Last but not least, research has shown that non-academic activities could be a channel to release stress. For example, exercising releases dopamine which boosts mental health. In conclusion, extracurricular activities have a lot of benefits for children. Though it might add pressure, they can start learning about time management early by balancing both academic subjects and non-academic activities.