Some people say that economic development is necessary to reduce poverty in the world. Others say that economic growth should be stopped as it damages the environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the controversial issue of balancing environmental protection with economic growth has captured our attention more than ever. While some believe that developing the economy is crucial for improving our general lives, others argue that it has a detrimental effect on the environment and must be halted. I align myself with the latter and this essay will provide details explaining why. On one hand, the proponents of a stronger economy may argue that it can alleviate poverty and enhance many aspects of life. This is because economic growth can improve living standards, provide better education opportunities, and generate more job prospects. For example, the establishment of new factories creates employment opportunities. This leads to increased incomes and self-sufficiency for the less fortunate. On the other hand, the pursuit of development comes at a significant environmental cost, resulting in uncontrollable ecological footprints that contaminate our rivers and streams. These harmful actions have the potential to irreversibly damage our natural surroundings. In recent decades, nature has retaliated with numerous calamities, such as hailstorms and earthquakes, indicating the consequences of our unsustainable practices. Therefore, if we do not take immediate action, we risk compromising our ability to enjoy the benefits of economic growth. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that a growing economy can upgrade people’s lives, the preservation of nature should be prioritised. In my opinion, we still can pursue economic development, but we should not neglect its impacts on the environment. By doing so, we can work towards eliminating all disastrous effects.