In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking has been banned in public places like parks, hospitals, and restaurants in many nations, and it is a law that many people support. I agree with this initiative because it reduces the harmful effects of passive smoking and also encourages smokers to quit. The primary reason why making it illegal to smoke in public makes sense is that it prevents people from developing diseases related to second-hand smoke. Passive smoking is something that non-smokers cannot avoid in the presence of a smoker, and it is just as dangerous to one's health as smoking. A ban in public places mitigates such dangerous exposure. For example, after some developing countries banned smoking in all indoor workplaces, there was a dramatic decline in lung cancer and other lethal diseases among restaurant and pub workers, leading many public health care authorities from other nations to adopt similar measures. The second main reason to support the ban is that it helps those addicted to cigarettes quit their habit. A law prohibiting smoking in public forces smokers to get out from their current locations if they wish to have a cigarette. Most people dislike such hassle and this can provide as an excellent motivation to quit. To add on, social pressure brought about by smoking bans is often cited by ex-smokers as one of the reasons they gave up the habit. In conclusion, I believe that making it against the law to smoke in public should be encouraged because it prevents people from developing serious health issues caused by passive smoking and reduces the number of smokers.