Drug abuse is an increasing problem in modern times. Discuss some reasons behind this and suggest ways it can be hindered.

It is clear that growing drug overuse is a social issue these days. Even though this is a serious problem, it can be resolved by regulating drugs more strongly and showing the detrimental results of drug abuse. To begin with, the main reason for drug abuse is that the media describes drugs as something fancy and glamorous, which fosters individuals' curiosity. Also, it is one of the reasons that people can easily obtain drugs nowadays. For instance, as a number of celebrities misuse drugs, the public’s need for drugs has increased. Furthermore, individuals can buy drugs without difficulty. For example, in Korea, anyone can have drugs in their hand in only one hour once they send money to dealers and let them know their addresses through Korean social media platforms, not to mention Kakao Talk. However, there are some solutions to this issue. Tightening regulations with regard to drugs can reduce ill use of them. For example, in some countries, drugs are totally prohibited because of their historical incidents. If drug addicts get arrested by police, they will be punished with death. Therefore, citizens are reluctant to attempt to do drugs since they are fully aware of the outcome of drug use. In addition, letting people know the adverse effects of drug abuse is likely to mitigate such overuse. For instance, in my country, the government is doing its best to encourage youngsters not to take drugs abusively by showing documentaries about drug addicts. In conclusion, it is evident that ill use of drugs is a concerning problem in today’s society. Nevertheless, strong regulations and awareness of side effects can resolve the issue.