Some experts believe that when a country is already rich, any additional increase in economic wealth does not make its citizens any more satisfied. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been claimed that economic increase in rich countries does not imply more satisfaction for their citizens. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement for two reasons. The first one is that I think that getting richer, even if the person is already rich, will probably make the person feel better, and the second one is that I do not agree with generalizing people ’s feelings. Firstly, we cannot deny that improving the economy in a rich country would contribute to the better well-being of people, increasing their life quality standards. One example of this is Finlandia, this country is one of the happiest nations in the world and its wealth index is enormous. People have time to dedicate to their families instead of working all day and children attend school only for three hours, having the best education system with the highest educational standards. All this contributes to an improvement of the national economy, making feel its citizens happier as their work- life balance gets better. Secondly, I think that the majority of citizens may be happier in case of economic improvement. However, not everything in life is about the economy, and I think that this may be related to why some people are not feeling better with this “good news”. Nowadays, individuals are very confused about life, and even if they are wealthy, money cannot resolve what a person feels or desires. Statistics show the highest suicide rates in the richest countries, which proves that being economically stable and rich does not guarantee happiness. In conclusion, even if some experts believe that an additional increase in the economy in a rich country would not make a difference among their citizens, I think that it would definitely contribute to the better well-being of most people increasing their quality of life standards and satisfaction levels. However, some sectors of society may be experiencing other issues in their lives that do not let them pain attention to other good things, like feeling happier because their country and their people are acceding to a better lifestyle standard. The economy may benefit people and bring stability into their lives but it cannot guarantee happiness for everyone.