Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what what extent do you agree or disgaree?

In some nations, the improvement in supermarkets could paralyse small businesses and so some people believe that this will lead to the closure of many local communities. I completely agree with the statement because these huge shopping marts provide lower prices and various choices of their products. Moreover, these big supermarkets are commonly the go-to for many people because of the reduced cost of their products which the local stores do not offer. Since it is cheaper, people are influenced to buy more goods despite some of what they have bought is not necessary. For example, S&R a popular membership supermarket in the Philippines always advertised their buy-one-take schemes or wholesale goods. Additionally, this kind of ad makes shopping for big groceries very enticing and they are good at making people feel that they got their necessities at a cheaper rate. Furthermore, the wide variety of products offered by these markets is a big factor because people think having many options will make it easier to decide. For example Landers, the rival supermarket of S&R offers many imported goods coming from different countries. Also, Filipinos have the mindset that imported brands are better than their local counterparts and so these variations make individuals think that they have superiority. Aside from that, these membership-driven supermarkets provide a sense of exclusivity to their members. In conclusion, I completely agree that the development of huge supermarkets could stop the operations of small businesses because of the cheaper prices and the wide options given.