In the past most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and the smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development.

A large number of individuals would commute by different transportation means. Because of the prevalence of internet accessibility and electronic devices going to work is decreasing significantly. It seems to me that the benefits such as saving time and preserving the environment outweigh the drawbacks like less socializing. In this essay, I am going to discuss both. One of the most obvious advantages is that a considerable amount of time is well saved. There is no denying the fact that travelling to the workplace wastes a lot of time due to the fact that the traffic is usually heavy. For example, according to statistics, it takes employees approximately between two and three hours to go to the workplace and back. Another positive point is working at home makes a contribution to preserving the planet. On the other hand, there are definitely some disadvantages. Overstaying at home is doomed to depression and weaker social skills. Working in a place with others can be a very communicative activity which many people enjoy if they talk together. Without socializing many people might feel very lonely. Consequently for individuals, this lack of personal contact could cause feelings of isolation which can make people depressed. For instance, during and after the Covid-19 pandemic the number of employees who worked remotely significantly increased and this meaningfully contributed to visiting therapists. In conclusion, working from home is highly beneficial for both individuals and the planet. Less travelling will also help reduce congestion and environmental pollution. therefore working from home should be encouraged because the advantages overcome the disadvantages.