Many people believe that social networking sites (such ad Facebook) have had a huge impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree ?

Advanced technologies nowadays foster growth in users of social media in the world. In my opinion, while various positive effects are derived from such phenomena, including a better understanding of people with different backgrounds, there are drawbacks which will cause social issues. On the bright side, the number of people who use social networking sites, such as Facebook; Instagram; and Twitter, which growing in size enhances the efficiency of communication around the world and stimulates globalisation. Residents in different nations nowadays are able to access different cultures and information to demolish discrimination caused by misunderstanding. For example the younger generations in many regions are willing to embrace people with different sexual orientations, which provides a friendly and more safe living environment for residents and fosters a harmonious society. On the other hand, there are various drawbacks derived from the incremental popularity of social media. First of all, users feel less responsible to make anonymous comments on the internet, which deteriorates verbal bullying in a virtual world. Such as many influencers on Instagram are criticized for their appearance, which leads to low self-esteem, and even will increase the suicide rate. Secondly, the lack of censorship from authorities allows the spreading of misleading information. For example, there are many fake news during the pandemic, which causes unnecessary panic in public and makes many elderly people refuse to take the vaccine. To summarise, in my perspective, it is inevitable that social networking sites will continue gain the number of participants, even though, there are many positive influences that stimulate the process in societies, people should, as well, take the downsides into perspective.