Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The question of whether to use alternative treatments instead of seeing a doctor or not is a controversial topic today, as people have seen some great impacts of this kind of treatment. This debate has got several cons and pros and I will discuss some of them now. One major advantage of alternative medicines is that they haven' t got common side effects which chemical medicines have. Some experts believe that high dosages of chemicals are used in common medicines which can cause damage to the liver, although traditional medicines are safe. A further positive of traditional ways of treatment such as acupuncture or medicinal plants is that they are always accessible and easy to prepare, especially in some countries that have limited access to medical services and do not have sufficient measures of essential medicines. So, it can be said that there are benefits for society and individuals in using alternative medicines. Turning to possible disadvantages, the biggest negative could be the excessive consumption of alternative medicines without taking advice from professionals. For instance, some people think that alternative medicines are as same as vegetables and they can take them in large amounts but this may lead to negative consequences such as drug poisoning. Furthermore, the health problem could be serious and need to be cured by some special and strong medicines and if someone in the mentioned situation doesn' t visit a doctor and doesn' t get healed significantly he would put his life in great danger. Lastly, imports and exports in terms of medical drugs are a major income for governments and if these kinds of medicine become useless businesses which are connected to them will meet a downturn. To sum up, alternative medicines are easy to provide and have fewer side effects in comparison to chemical medicines but people should avoid excessive consumption of them and also they couldn' t be used for serious health problems.