Some students take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. Discus the advantages and disadvantages.

In recent years, due to the trend of working holidays, more and more students decide to take a gap year after graduating high school to travel abroad, work, or become an intern. However, some people regard a gap year as an irresponsible excuse of escaping from studying in college. In my opinion, it is totally upside down. Because this experience can help teenagers to broaden their horizons, figure out what they are interested in,and establish their confidence. There are some discussions about the drawbacks of taking a gap year. The most common one is that taking a gap year will make students unwilling to go back to school again. In fact, this situation may happen, while after finishing their gap years most students tend to study harder than those who attend directly to universities. The reason is that they will become more mature and they know the importance of getting a better academic score, which will help them to find a better job. Besides, the pros that I mentioned above, there are three positive effects of having a gap year. First, no matter studying abroad or working will help students obtain social experiences. For example, If you go to other countries to study, you will need to deal with your accommodation, flight tickets,and daily meal on your own. And if you go to work, you will learn how to cope with the relationships with your managers and co-workers. Second, a gap year experience can let teenagers find out what they want to major in their college. This will help them have less possibilities to regret in the future. Third, it is common for students to acquire some skills in their gap year. Therefore, this will boost their confidence. In conclusion, Although some public believed that a gap year is an expensive and ineffective activity, personally, I think that it can give a lot of advantages to the students.