Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the rate of abortion is rapidly growing and it continues to be contentious if getting rid of pregnancies should be legalised. There are valid points to both views, notwithstanding, I am of the opinion that this phenomenon should be made lawful. Abortion enthusiasts claim that not all individuals are in for Parenthood as they will rather focus on some other pressing matters such as their career progression amongst others. Parents who value other things like jobs, hobbies and so on than their children most times fail to inculcate in their offspring the right values, behaviour and code of conduct to make them good citizens and maintain the fabric of society. For instance, India, in 2022, saw a significant rise in criminal activities among youngsters whose parents are either absent or less present in their lives. Furthermore, the overpopulation of the majority of countries may be curbed by the reduction in birth rate and this can probably be done through the legalization of a maximum number of live birth by an individual or family. Desmond Rolls, in his article said that passing a bill to restrict humans from having more than three babies is only feasible by making abortion lawful as almost 90% of persons are sexually active and have a preference for unprotected sex. On the other hand, opposers of killing a foetus in-utero emphasize that it is religiously a bad occurrence. They point out that the largest proportion of the world's religions view this activity as a sin that can result in economic and developmental setbacks for a community and its inhabitants. So, any law to make it acceptable must be avoided. In addition, there's a claim that termination of pregnancy is an unsafe procedure that can be detrimental to the health of those involved. Therefore, if miscarriage is socially acceptable most individuals will seek unskilled personnel to carry out the activity rather than to patronize approved and skilled medical institutions. According to a medical report in southern Nigeria, it is reported that 70% of deaths and organ damage in 2020 resulted from abortion. As a result, some people are against this procedure so as to prevent the death of their loved ones. In conclusion, although there are negativities to making abortion a legal tender. Notwithstanding, I strongly agree that this action is made legally acceptable as it is one of the major ways to prevent the bad upbringing of youths that results in an increased crime rate as well as overpopulation in the world at large.