Many people in the music business feel that illegal music sites on the internet are a serious threat to the industry and more should be done to prevent them from operating. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

With the advancement of the internet and modern file format, it is easier to distribute illegal music on the internet. It is argued that businesses in the music industry think that distributing illegal songs on the internet can impact the whole entertainment industry and several actions must be taken to prevent this phenomenon. I believe businesses are increasingly concerned about the harm of sharing music online as it will reduce the artists ' income and it shows that they are disrespecting and acknowledging of effort of making those tracks. The majority of artists ' revenue is generated from music streaming services. Illegal distribution and streaming, negatively impacts a huge proportion of the artist's income. This causes many stakeholders to suffer, ranging from internal stakeholders such as the company, and the external stakeholders. With a lesser amount of money received, their budget for creating the next song will be reduced, which impacts heavily on their marketing budget, as the popularity of a music heavily depends on how much the music is known to the public. For instance, Taylor Swift, one of the renowned artists expressed her concern regarding illegal streaming on the news outlets, as she reported losing her streaming by 10 per cent over the last three years. Distributing music online also display that they discredit an artist's hard work and efforts in making each track. Producing a track is a complex task, as it demands a varied of set skills, and not everyone has the ability to produce one. Distributing music illegally mean that they are not respecting the effort of the production teams or the creative ideas every music individuals' put on to make a song. For instance, Justin Bieber is furious when he knows that his music was share illegal, as he emphasised that it is not about the income, but more on the efforts and time he invested when making a song. In conclusion, for many music artists, illegal music sites online should be banned as many music companies think that streaming music unlawfully can harm their artists incomes, and they are discrediting the process of making music.