By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilt of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Killing a defendant as a punishment is still facing plenty of pros and cons. Recently, the number of death penalty considerably decreased. I totally agree that prison is better than murder and I will give an elucidation in this essay. First, everyone deserves forgiveness, regardless of the fault that they did. With the amnesty, they probably will change and correct their faults. However, the main goal of punishment is to change peoples’ habits. After being imprisoned, people ideally get the second chance to be a good member of society. How would people fix their trait if they were killed? Second, it should not be forgotten that ending the persons’ life is a remarkable problem as well. This is extremely opposite with the human rights that deployed in our civilization in the last few centuries. In order to respect human rights, the state has to respect human life as well. In addition, assassination is entirely opposite with the democratization process. It could be argued that the folk afraid country will use the legalized killing to press its oppositional group. In several autocratic states, for example, the supreme leader easily demolishes his or her political enemy. Instead of being used to uphold justice among inhabitants, executing the defendant undoubtedly can be used for another negative purpose. This type of sentence has an abundance of risk. To sum up, I think that the death penalty is too risky. With this punishment, we not only can not give forgiveness and a second chance to the offender, but also defy human rights and human dignity.