New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that children spend much of their time playing with the last technology devices. While some people argue that there are many negative benefits of this trend, I would argue that the advantages more than compensate for any disadvantages. On the one hand, there are two serious drawbacks when children waste their time playing video games or using the Internet. Firstly, those habits lead children to less communication and become a sedentary lifestyle, which those games encourage. This means that children do not have time to do exercises that are necessary for adequate development and make interaction with other people. Secondly, spending much of their spare time on their computer or mobile phones is another reason that causes health problems for youngsters. For example, if they keep their eyes glued to the screen and consoles for hours on end, they may suffer symptoms of poor vision. On the other hand, I support the view of those who believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. The most one is that children now have a range of choices to enjoy their free time rather than the past. In this case, the new technologies enable children to broaden their knowledge through interactive software. For instance, children may expand their understanding of wildlife by watching the animal world channel instead of updating information through radio or traditional newspapers. Another consideration is that the Internet not only provides a countless useful material with few clicks, it also supports children discover friends in any part of the world by using chat rooms and social networks such as Facebook or Tweet. As a result, the new technologies both enhance children ’s self-study and promote young people to develop a wide circle of virtual friends. In conclusion, I argue that the advantages of this trend are more crucial than the disadvantages.