In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, youngsters prefer to choose work-based training rather than higher education. There are a number of pros and cons that sustain this choice and this essay is going to lean over its advantages and disadvantages. Firstly, regarding the, advantages there are some to consider. For example, some manual workers will always be needed and a university degree is not necessary for many service professions. It is undeniable that practical training is more important in some industries. Nowadays, there is a lack of professionals, particularly, in areas such as plumbing or carpentry and, consequently, their services are therefore becoming more and more expensive. This kind of training is becoming very valuable over time. On the other hand, and what drawbacks of choosing a work-base training instead a university one are concerned, a number of reasons can be elaborated. Higher education can open the door to better job prospects which require specific skills and knowledge. In the, future this may lead to a higher earned salary. As economies are becoming increasingly knowledge-based, skilled workers are more likely to be needed for sectors such as information technology and engineering. There is no doubt that people with qualifications are more likely to find work. In conclusion, a healthy economy needs a wide range of workers, whether with a high degree or with a simple training job. In both cases a positive contribution to society is important. However, from my point of,view I do not think that the perks outweigh the drawbacks in this scenario.