Topic: Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

As this is an era of technological advancements, many youngsters of the nation are trying to settle in urban areas and leaving the old ones in villages. From my perspective,it has both pros and cons which I will elaborate on in this essay. There are many reasons for this action. Firstly, many students prefer to come to cities for higher education as it is not available in rural areas. Secondly, the industries and big commercial units are running in towns and it becomes difficult for young ones to travel daily from the countryside to cities for earning and then back in the evening because it is not economical. Similarly, there are no health facilities available on rural sides in comparison to cities where well-equipped health institutes are present and remained open for 24 hours. In addition to it, the most important reason is that a wide range of networks like social, print and electronic media are easily accessible in cities which is attracting young men. On the other hand, this migration also has many drawbacks. First and foremost is that the population of urban areas are increasing day by day and making the sites congested for living. Furthermore, the number of vehicles is also significantly increasing on roads which are ultimately becoming a source of pollution and making the environment unfit for living. For instance, according to the research conducted by the environmental department, pollution has shown a surge of approximately 40 per cent in the last decades in Lahore and becoming a cause of several respiratory diseases. In conclusion, the movement has advantages on one side like health, educational and earning facilities also has disadvantages on the other side as pollution and congestion.