A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism industry.

Financial sources of some places such as Hong Kong, and Japan are highly dependent on their tourism industry. It is believed to be beneficial to the countries but on the other hand, it may also bring some drawbacks to the community. Focusing on the advantages of tourism first, welcoming foreign visitors to a country allows them to experience local cultural activities, hence spreading the local culture to their own countries. As a result, it successfully establishes globalisation. Moreover, the local economy can be enhanced because tourists usually have a higher consumption power so they will help to increase the capital flow into the nations, as well as GDP. In addition, if the places gain popularity in the world due to satisfactory tourism, it would enhance its soft power and world status. Japan, which attracts a lot of foreign people to visit, is an illustrative example. Despite the positive effect bought by visitors, they undeniably have disadvantages on the environment and local environment. An excessive number of travellers can plausibly cause environmental damage and loss of cultural heritage. For example, some people would like to leave their footsteps in tourist attractions with graffiti on rocks or walls. Furthermore, if the government focuses too much on boosting tourism, they may neglect the demands of local residents. For instance, the government in Hong Kong actively provides incentives for oversea visitors, which leads to competition for daily products between them and the community. In conclusion, tourism is a double-edged sword, which both carries a positive and negative side. However, a balanced policy in strengthening it should bring prosperity to the countries.