Sending spacecraft and astronauts into space is very expensive. It would be better for governments to use the money spent on space exploration to improve the quality of life on Earth. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The incredible cost of sending spacecraft and astronauts to explore space is a serious issue. Some people believe that the money should be allocated to promote the standard of living on Earth by governments. I partially agree with this, for the money should be invested to meet more immediate needs of people in spite of its potential to discover another place for habitat. On one hand, there are more advantages that people can gain when governments use the money to deal with more urgent problems. In other words, they are expected to have a more direct impact on protecting the lives of the public. For example, severe shortages of food have become a threatening issue caused by growing natural disasters and a rising population. Consequently, those who are not able to access nutritious food often end up suffering from multiple diseases and starving to death. Therefore, the authorities should make more financial allocations to promote the life of people on Earth by strengthening their health check systems and providing groceries rather than space projects which often waste a lot of money and resources that could have saved thousands of lives. On the other hand, governments' investments in astronomical missions would be necessary for some surprising revelation of the mystery of the unknown universe. Indeed, there is a gradual understanding of Mars thanks to the continuous trials to send astronauts and spaceships. This ongoing research on any traces of lifeforms and water on the different planets can ensure its habitability in future. Furthermore, the possibility of human settlement on Mars allows them to avoid growing threats of environmental problems such as rising temperatures and air and water pollution on Earth. As a result, it may be worth it for the authorities to spend money on space projects to encourage the prosperity and peace of future generations. In conclusion, I somewhat agree with the money spent on more pressing issues, especially the food shortage caused by the population rise and natural threats than space projects. Although advanced space exploration is likely to let humans discover a new habitable place for the future, money should be invested to secure their well-being.