Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

There is a part of the population that believes that the loss of biodiversity in our ecosystems is causing a dramatic environmental issue, while others believe that there are other issues that should be addressed with priority. In my opinion, losing most animal and plant species could lead to human extinction. It is known that we already lost more than 70% of wild animal species and more than 80% of natural wild landscapes. This means that in general we are left with less than 25% of biodiversity, causing issues in some environmental disasters in some parts of the globe. For example, the lack of water in countries like Africa and South Spain. I personally think this is a major problem for our society since can lead to inequality between the northern and southern parts, being the consequence of wars. On the other hand, people think the extinction of particular species is not the major issue our planet is facing. It is believed that plastic consumption should be the first one to address in order to protect our planet. Also, researchers are worried about the current air pollution due to travelling by air and sea. To conclude, there are two different opinions discussing what is the main issue our planet is facing. However, I believe that whichever your opinion is, there is no alternative planet to live in. As a consequence, actions need to be taken by individuals so that governments react accordingly.