Creative artists should be given freedom to express their ideas through words, pictures, music or films. Some people nevertheless think that the government should restrict artist’ freedom of expression. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a conflict regarding artists ' freedom of expression. Some sectors of society do not agree with the fact that artists express their thoughts through different artistic languages, believing that restrictions should be implemented by the government. In my opinion, I completely disagree as every person has the right to express their ideas freely and nobody, even the government, can stop it or ban it. To begin with, we cannot deny our right to think and express our ideas in public without restriction. Just for being a person, we are gifted with critical thinking and we ought to use it as much as we can. Many countries have been the scene for dictators, who used to restrict and punish people who used to think differently. In the last Argentinian military government of 1976, thousands of artists such as singers, musicians, actors and actresses were exiled from their own country just because they were banned and their lives were at risk. In other words, asking the governments to restrict artistic work would be exactly the same that recreating those moments in history when people were not free. On the other hand, if governments would be controlling the freedom of expression of artists, society would be entirely dependent on the politician's power, being controlled in every sector of public expression like newspapers, influencers, journalists, lawyers, etcetera. For instance, there are numerous countries in the world in which many reels of Instagram, Tick tock and Youtube are played without music because the majority of those songs are in the prohibited song list. This is terrible as violates personal freedom, limiting the way you can think of. In conclusion, even if there are still some groups that are pushing to restrict artistic expression, this is against human rights, which means that I strongly disagree with this as I am in favour of respecting artistic freedom. In my opinion, having the government restrict public jobs of artists would be like returning to the past when politicians used to control everything and people were not free of choosing what to do or think. However, this is already happening in some parts of the world in which governments are manipulating their citizens, something terribly sad and incredible for this century.