A 14-year-old young who seriously damaged school was made to clean streets as a punishment. Do you think young criminals should be sent to prison or there are alternative forms of punishment? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's world, one of the most concerning issues is the teenagers' crimes and punishments. Although it is predominantly argued to condemn young people in trials to spend some time in prison, I contend with this view, and I think they should be penalized by doing some sort of social and environmental jobs. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons for this. The first reason is that adolescents have not reached to maturity and their physical and mental structures are still developing. What I mean is, a number of them, who are accused of committing a crime, are not fully aware of the consequences of their actions and might conducted many of these as a mean to satisfy their curousity and excitement. For instance, devastating a part of the school by meddling with labratory chemical compounds or accidently activating some reactions. The second point is they may become beneficial in some social assistance. In other words, the government can take advantage of their ability and hire them in some organisations. Consequently, they can spend their penalty time serving society and authorities. Cleaning avenues and collecting litter from nature is a good illustration of this which can be an excellent experience for youngsters to learn from their mistakes and reconsider their actions. To sum up, a myriad of events could occur to deceive a child into committing a crime. However, the most significant thing is that they should not be kept in jail as a punishment, instead children should be fined by doing a plethora of substitute responsibilities which may be a win-win situation for both the guilty one and the government.