School is a great place to reduce the overweight problem, do you agree?

In my opinion,men and women shouldhave the same educational opportunities. However,do not agree with the idea of accepting equal proportions of each gender in every universitysubject. Having the same number of men and women on all degree courses is simply unrealistic.Student numbers on any course depend on the applications that the institution receives. lf auniversity a university decided to fill courses with equal numbers of males and females, it would needenough applicants of each gender. In reality, many courses are more popular with one genderthan the other, and it would not be practical to aim for equal proportions. For example, nursingcourses tend to attract more female applicants, and it would be difficult to fill these courses iffifty fifty per cent of the places needed to go to males. Apart from the practical concerns expressed above, I also believe that it would be unfair tobase admission to university courses on gender. Universities should continue to select thebest candidates for each course according to their qualifications. In this way, both men andwomen have the same opportunities, and applicants know that they will be successful if theywork hard to achieve good grades at school. lf a female student is the best candidate for aplace place on a course. it is surely wrong to reject her in favour of a male student with lower gradesor grades fewer qualifications. in conclusion, the selection of universitv universities students should be based on merit. and it would beboth impractical and unfair to change to a selection procedure based on gender.