Walking is known to be beneficial for health, and yet fewer people are walking these days. What are the causes and solutions to this?

Although walking has a lot of advantages to human health, the number of people walking has kept declining recently. This is due to high-level pollution and lack of pedestrian-friendly space. There are 2 solutions which can be implemented to encourage people to walk actively. Firstly, the reason why many people stop walking is because of detrimental air quality which may be deadly for people who have existing respiratory issues. They avoid walking on the streets as they will be exposed to harmful substances coming from various vehicles. For example, motorcycles emit carbon dioxide which requires your lungs to work harder to transform into oxygen. To make it worse, space is getting increasingly scarce, hence green open areas are extremely hard to locate. Secondly, pedestrians’ space is often narrow, inconvenient, or non-existent. Hence, not only walking is pretty dangerous but also unpleasant as you need to compete with vehicles for space. There are two effective solutions to increase the number of people who love walking. One way to tackle this is to promote electric vehicles by lowering the purchase tax and providing accessible electric car charging stations. By doing this, it will hopefully produce cleaner air for people to breathe easily while walking on a daily basis. Another method of dealing with the low popularity of walking is to provide a comfortable and safe place where there is clear segregation between bikes with walking lanes, exercise equipment or even portable toilets. This way we can change the mindset of walking as a leisure activity rather than a chore. In conclusion, raising awareness of electric vehicles and creating spacious and comfortable pedestrian spaces would increase the popularity of walking. If governments paid more attention to pedestrians' experience, more people would love walking as it’s an easy way to boost their fitness.