It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is vital for parents to teach their sons or daughters about right and wrong things at a very young age. Sometimes punishment is essential for this learning. Therefore, in this essay, I will discuss why punishment is important in teaching children about right or wrong and what kind of punishment can be used by parents or teachers to bring pleasant behaviour to children. Children at a very young age especially between 2-4 years old are hard to control because during this period it is when they start to walk, climb, run, throw, and certainly they can start to talk and demand things. Sometimes, they will throw a tantrum if they do not get what they want and this is when parents should teach them that this is wrong and suggest what is right. Children, however, are not the same. They don't have the same attitude or personality. Some families need punishment to teach their children some don’t. Therefore, a punishment such time-out is practicable with early-age children. Time-out punishment is a type of punishment when children are taken away from where their misbehaviour happened. They will not allow to talk to anybody even their parents or teachers until the time is up. After that, it’s time for parents or teachers to tell them why they were in time-out. This method is widely used by many families and schools worldwide since it seems to be better than shouting or punishing them physically because such methods, can give children trauma which could possibly result in long-term consequences when they grow up and their bad behaviour can be hardwired. With the time-out method, children are unlikely to repeat the same mistake because they understand why they are being punished. And children will know automatically in the future that this behaviour is not the right thing to do. In conclusion, it is necessary to punish children in order to teach them what is right or wrong. But punishment has to be done in the right way in order to give them good behaviour. Thus, punishment can result in a negative way if parents or teachers use the wrong method.