Competitiveness is seen as a positive quality for people to have in many societies today. How does this competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative quality?

Competition is an inevitable part of life for many in this ever-changing world. Some consider such a phenomenon yields significant benefits for personal as well as social development. I agree with this notion to a large extent as competitiveness encourages individuals to reach their full potential. Firstly, competition affects individuals in perspective ways, both positively and negatively. Competition can be a powerful tool for promoting the population to develop their fullest potential to work harder towards their goals. For example, students can be easily motivated by their more exceptional counterparts in many aspects ranging from academic performance to co-curricular activities after school. This is because young people nowadays intend to compete with others to be outstanding to earn a better and more fulfilling future. As such, healthy competitions allow them to advance in their personal, academic and professional lives. On the other hand, competition may pose a strain on individuals' mentality. Competitiveness may gradually evolve into jealousy for certain groups of competitors. For instance, people from less advantageous socio-backgrounds may formulate a sense of jealousy when compared with those who are financially better off, as they may think that it is unfair to them in terms of financial background. Such a mentality may even lead to crime in which one may perform destructive or criminal activities to attain whatever they want. Therefore, people can be negatively affected by unhealthy competition as it has the potential to have an adverse impact on one's mental well-being. However, I personally think that competitiveness is a positive quality for an individual to own. Competitions facilitate the innovation of technology and lead to a booming economy. For instance, this quality is an indispensable part of the globe. Many nations are experimenting to work towards developing state-of-the-art products, including a breakthrough in the technological field, a more effective educational system and an upgrade of the employment ability of a nation. All of which may not be achieved in quality without experiencing pressure from their competitive counterparts around the world. Consequently, global competition allows countries to start abreast of developments and be at the forefront of innovations. In a nutshell, I agree to a large extent that competition yields significant advantages in promoting personal and national attainment in the near future, despite the disadvantageous impact on a person's mental health from unhealthy ones.