Due to the advances in science, it is now possible for people to live 100 old or even longer. While some people think it is a good thing, others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Thanks to the constant improvement of science, now people's life span is longer compared to the past. Even though there is a growing debate over this topic, in my opinion, this is a negative tendency since it will cause a decline in the number of young people and lead to a decrease in countries ' productivity. Firstly, the main point of developing science and technology is serving people and increasing their convenience. Senior citizens of society are the ones who have devoted their lives to a particular purpose or job and now deserve to enjoy their retirements by using all the availabilities that science offers, including good health. Hence, they can savour every moment of the rest of their lives by being in a better health condition and mood. In addition, older people living longer is a clear indication of the impeccable public service and strong economy where people spend their lives in peace. For example, according to the statistics, some European countries such as Sweden, Norway and Denmark are renowned for housing people who have the longest life spans and strong economies. On the other hand, the prevalence of older citizens in society might result in some significant problems that cannot be disregarded. First of all, it can be the prime reason for a decreasing trend in the number of juveniles and younger people who are supposed to replace the older population. Such a persisting imbalance between these age groups for a long time will result in countries having fewer people which might encourage officials to devise new demographic policies. Secondly, this tendency will also indicate itself in the economy as the main part of the working employees will be people who are approaching their retirement age. Since deficiency of the younger workforce will be the reason for lower productivity in the economy. For instance, Germany is now suffering from a lack of potential new workers, and eagerly attracts them from foreign countries. To conclude, although science can benefit the elderly by providing them with better opportunities that extend their lives, in my opinion, it can have a negative effect on both economy and the age of the total population.