Should old historical buildings be protected as heritage sites by the government, or they should be destroyed for the development of the cities?

It is significant for the government to protect as well as refurbish ancient architecture and keep them as tourist attractions. However, they must not demolish the artefacts to build infrastructures of the cities. In my view, I completely disagree with the statement that destroying such heritage sites and replacing those with newly constructed places should be considered to be an offence against our ancestor's hard work to build such pieces of beauty, and this essay will dictate pointers to support the same. The old historical monuments must be preserved as heritage sites because such artefacts are the centre of the tourist attraction. Moreover, because of the increase in tourism, simultaneously employment opportunities would be created for the local population, thus contributing to growth in the country’s economy. Also, a lot of people are emotionally attached to these arts from history and keeping those alive would not hurt the sentiments of the public. For instance, Qutub Minar is one of the major tourist attraction sites in India which is also a part of the seven wonders of the world. However, demolishing such a building would directly impact the image of the country. In addition, through these historical monuments, individuals can pass on to deliver the cultural legacy to future generations who would be fascinated with the beauty of the heritages, as many of these artefacts are a reflection of the ancient culture. Furthermore, living monuments such as these structures exhibit the existence of our ancestors as well as keep the people of current and future generations inquisitive about the history of the nation. Moreover, learning about different cultures helps individuals to become better global citizens. To conclude, it is recommended to preserve ancient venues because they define the originality of a nation’s culture which should not be replicated by the artificial architectures of the current world. Despite the old architecture of such buildings, people around the world would travel to see the beauty of such infrastructures that would eventually deposit a lot of capital to boost the economy of a nation.