Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication has negative effect on young people’s reading and writing skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, more and more youngsters use computers and mobile phones as means of communication. This is believed to be detrimental to their reading and writing abilities. While technology’s negative effects are evident, I argue that computers and mobile phones can be helpful tools for the young to improve their reading and writing skills. On the one hand, the Internet can have an adverse impact on teenagers’ poor reading and writing skills can be attributed to the prevalence of Internet addiction. More specifically, surfing the internet may take account more time for costs teenagers a huge amount of time. For example, to according a survey in a national newspaper in Vietnam, students read less than a book per year, while they spend a huge amount of their time scrolling through posts on Facebook. Thus, it is hard to improve their literacy ability. Compared to their peers in the last decade, they read books, comics or even wrote a letter to contact their friends. This would lead to more well-known poets in the past On the other hand, soaking in computers and mobile phones may also improve the liberate abilities of young people. Instead of becoming a poet, these days it has a tendency to become bloggers or online writer. This means that many influential people share their opinions relating to social or environmental problems on their newsfeeds. As a result, when scrolling through posts on Facebook, youngsters read statuses relating to hot news, which would help to save their time to switch to other news websites. In addition, social networking sites offer comment features in order to encourage readers to give their views or contact bloggers In conclusion, the wide usage of technology devices for communication may have drawbacks to the reading and writing abilities of young people. However, I believe that if they can manage it well and read high-quality content from famous writers and their idols on the internet, their liberate skills would be enhanced.