Wild animals have no use in the 21st century and trying to preserve animals now is just a waste of money. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an opinion that animals in the wildlife are useless for the contemporary society and saving them is money-wasting. Although wild animals play a less essential role in the modern world, I believe that preserving them is what humans should do. To commence, nowadays, species in the wildlife contribute less to the development of humanity. In prehistory, humans had to rely on animals for their survival such as food and clothing. And even after going into civilisation, humanity still depended on wild animals significantly as there were no alternative solutions. For example, to make the white keys of a piano, elephants' ivories were necessary, so hunting these animals was pivotal in manufacturing this instrument. However, thanks to the development of science and technology, humans can be more and more independent from wildlife, including animals. At present, instead of making the white keys of the piano from ivory, manufacturers use plastic, the achievement of the science in the 20th century. Thus, in the modern world, wild animals are less useful for humanity than in the past. Nonetheless, that does not mean that preserving wild animals is throwing money through a window. One of the significant reasons is these species still have potential which humans can use in the future. As an example, the extinction of dodo can question about the status of animal husbandry. If this fowl could be domesticated like chicken and duck before the risk of extinction, it could have become one of the noticeable sources of meat in the world. According to many accounts, the dodo meat was delicious. That meant many countries in the world could have had an alternative income from agriculture. And it can be imagined that instead of turkey, Americans can celebrate their Thanksgiving Holiday by dodo. Possibly, humanity lost one of the most interesting types of meat because of overhunting and the invasion of exotic animals of the islands where dodo lived. Furthermore, preserving wild animals can be useful for scientific research. These species can be the important information source for studies of scientists. For instance, blue whales are an endangered species and they are an important point for specialists in studying how a number of mammals might move from land to sea for their survival. In conclusion, although wild animals become less essential in modern humanity, they are worth saving as they have potential for the development of humans and are the important subjects of the scientific community.