"In some countries children have very strict rules of behavior, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want. To what extent should children have to follow rules? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. "

In some nations, establish strict rules for children since they believe that discipline is critical for a child. In others, they allow children free to do what they want in order to avoid applying pressure on them. In my opinion, it is important the children must follow to rules of behavior, however, they also should have freedom. To start with, in countries that give freedom to children, it might lead them down the wrong path as they do have not enough knowledge to understand what is right or wrong. If children are allowed to do whatever they want, they are more likely to grow into irresponsible adults lacking empathy. For example, in countries where there is too much personal freedom, children as young as fourteen years old regularly drive vehicles and cause accidents. There are also children who bring guns to school and shoot others. These behaviours are unacceptable and there should be limits on what they can do. On the other hand, too many restrictions will stifle the growth of children. They need their personal space to grow and develop. Imposing too many rules on them will push them into depression and affect their normal growth. Studies have shown that children who grow up with proper parental care and fewer rules are more likely to prosper in life In my opinion, parents should have rules that govern children ’s behaviour. For instance, they should not be allowed to do things that would hurt themselves or others. They should be taught to respect authority. At the same time, they should have the freedom to decide what they eat, drink, or do in their free time, as long as their choices are not harmful. Children need some freedom with suitable parental control since they do not know what is wrong and right for them. In conclusion, rules are necessary for children's growth into responsible adults who do themselves and others good, but parents need to be careful to ensure that rules should not affect their development and freedom at a young child age.