Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people believe that if the price of petrol increases, problems like heavy vehicle traffic or contamination are going to be solved. I somewhat agree to this statement but, additionally, I think there are other measures that might be useful. Making fuel more pricy is only one way to approach the goal of a clean environment,, however it's going to make a big change in our lives. On one side, yes, there won't be so many cars on the streets and the air won't be so dirty, but, on the other side, the business world and local economics will suffer. For example, a delivery company will struggle to perform due to raised petrol costs and it may even bankrupt. In my opinion, there are more approachable methods that can impact those problems such as governmental laws, public information and familiarizing with those problems. For instance, in France there is a law that says cars with plates, finishing with even numbers can be driven on certain days of the week, and the opposite. Educational movies or series can be made due to affect people's moral values and desires to help the environment. Informing people and counting on their right decisions is very important and can have positive results. Another example is the population of Nederland, one of the most "greener" countries in the world. There people ride mostly bicycles and this is their own choice, as they know the risks and decide to take action against the most popular car-related problems. In conclusion, I believe that people should get a chance to prove their willingness to make a change before taking such drastic measures as increasing fuel prices.