Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is a fact that people in recent times tend to take alternative medicine rather than go to the doctor when they have health problems. While this phenomenon has a number of benefits, I believe that it is more likely to bring detrimental effects. On the one hand, there are many reasons why people prefer to choose the appropriate therapy at home. The first reason is that this method is more time-saving than seeking advice from a doctor. To be more specific, hospitals are usually full of patients and it also takes a great deal of time to queue up for their turn. Furthermore, the cost of meeting the doctor is quite expensive. Therefore, taking the correct medicine at home would be a better choice for those who need immediate treatment. On the other hand, I contend that using medical treatment without the instruction of the doctor has several deleterious impacts. Firstly, every type of medicine has to be taken with an adequate amount. Thus, using medicines indiscriminately can bring adverse effects to users, which might even lead to death due to overdose. In addition, people would not know exactly the health problem they are suffering from if they don’t visit the doctor. Gradually, they would make the problem worse and harder to find a cure. In conclusion, taking an alternative treatment can exert a few advantageous influences on people, however, it seems to me that this trend is a negative development owing to some unforeseeable consequences it may bring.